University of Tartu

The University of Tartu (UT) is Estonia’s leading centre of research and training. It preserves the culture of the Estonian people and spearheads the country’s reputation in research and provision of higher education. As Estonia’s national university, UT stresses the importance of international co-operation and partnerships with reputable research universities all over the world. The robust research potential of the university is evidenced by the fact that it is the only Baltic university that has been invited to join the Coimbra Group, a prestigious club of renowned research universities.

UT includes four faculties. Faculty of Arts and Humanities, Faculty of Social Sciences, Faculty of Medicine and Faculty Science and Technology. The Institute of Mathematics and Statistics belongs to the latter.

60 bachelor, 72 master and 34 doctoral study programmes available on 2015/2016, including 17 programmes in English (apply now!).   14,500 students (including over 1000 international students from 70 countries). About 1,450 doctoral students and 108 doctoral defences in 2014. More than 3,700 employees, including 1,880 academic employees. 69 partner universities in 26 countries.

The University of Tartu was founded in 1632 by the Swedish king Gustavus Adolphus. It was initially called Academia Dorpatensis. The necessary preparations for creating a university in Tartu (then Dorpat) were made by Johan Skytte, governor general of Livonia.

Academia Dorpatensis, modelled after the University of Uppsala in Sweden, was intended to pursue research and advance learning in a wide variety of disciplines. UT has continued to adhere to this approach throughout the centuries, and remains today the only classical university in Estonia. Research at UT focuses on subjects as diverse as medicine and philosophy, genetics and computer science.

Take a Virtual Tour of UT.

%d bloggers like this: