ECMI Prizes

Anile-ECMI Prize for Mathematics in Industry

The Anile-ECMI Prize for Mathematics in Industry was established honouring Professor Angelo Marcello Anile (1948-2007) of Catania, Italy. The prize is jointly funded by ECMI and by the Angelo Marcello Anile Association. It consists of a prize of 2500 Euros and an invitation to give a talk at the ECMI conference. The prize is given to a young researcher for an excellent PhD thesis in industrial mathematics successfully submitted at a European university.

Past winners

  • 2010 Andriy Vasyliovich Hlod, Technological University of Eindhoven.
  • 2012 Francesco Ferranti, University of Ghent, Belgium.
  • 2014 Paolo Pintus, Scuola Superiore Sant’Anna, Pisa.
  • 2016 Francesc Font Martinez, Polytechnic University of Catalonia, Spain.
  • 2018 Peter Gangl, Johannes Kepler Universität Linz, Austria.
  • 2021 Bernadette Stolz, Oxford, UK.

Hansjörg Wacker Memorial Prize

The Hansjörg Wacker Memorial Prize was established in memory of ECMI founding member Hansjörg Wacker (1939-1991), who was Professor of Numerical Mathematics at the Johannes Kepler University, Linz. The prize is jointly funded by ECMI and by a consortium of institutions from Linz which comprise the Industrial Mathematics Institute and the Institute of Computational Mathematics of Johannes Kepler University, and the Johann Radon Institute for Computational and Applied Mathematics of the Austrian Academy of Sciences. It consists of a prize of 1000 Euros and the invitation to attend the ECMI conference presenting his/her project as a contributed talk. The prize is awarded for the best mathematical dissertation at the Masters level on an industrial project, which was submitted at an ECMI institution.

Past winners

  • 1992 Joachim Weickert, University of Kaiserslautern, Germany.
  • 1994 M.J. Noot, Technical University of Eindhoven, The Netherlands.
  • 1996 Alberto Mancini, Università degli Studi di Firenze, Dipartimento di Matematica “U.Dini”, Italy.
  • 2000 Carl F. Stein, University of Göteborg, Sweden.
  • 2002 Nicole Marheineke, TU Kaiserslautern, Germany.
  • 2004 Sabine Zaglmayr, Graz University of Technology, Austria.
  • 2006 Filippo Terragni University of Milano, Italy.
  • 2008 Lauri Harhanen, Helsinki University of Technology, Finland.
  • 2014 Kishan Patel, University of Oxford, UK.
  • 2016 Elisa Riccietti from the Università degli Studi Firenze, Italy.
  • 2018 Edvin Åblad, Chalmers University, Sweden.
  • 2021 Halvor Snersrud Gustad, NTNU Trondheim, Norway
  • 2021 Jan Brekelmans, Technical University of Eindhoven, The Netherlands.

Lanczos Prize for Mathematical Software

The Lanczos Prize for Mathematical Software is a prize established in 2023 in order to reward and recognise exceptional research in the development of mathematical software. Cornelius Lanczos (1893-1974) was a pioneer of the development and implementation of numerical algorithms on digital computers. The prize is jointly founded and awarded by ECMI and EMS .

The Prize is to be awarded to a mathematician or scientist, or a group of mathematicians and scientists, for the development of outstanding mathematical software with important applications in mathematics, science, engineering, society or industry. Eligibility for the Prize is restricted to software whose source is available to the general public for scrutiny. Commercial software meeting this criterion is explicitly welcomed.

The award comprises a certificate and a cash prize of €3000.

The first prize will be awarded at the Ninth European Congress of Mathematics in Seville, July 15–19, 2024. The recipients will be invited to present their work at the congress.

Nominations for the prize should be submitted electronically to the chair of the Prize Committee, Professor Patrick Farrell (University of Oxford) with the EMS Office in cc by December 31, 2023.

%d bloggers like this: