Hansjörg Wacker Prize 2020/21

The Hansjörg Wacker Memorial Prize 2020/21 was awarded to

Halvor S. Gustad (NTNU Trondheim)
Using Artificial Neural Networks for Predicting Bending Moments of Riser Structures
supervised by E. Celledoni (NTNU) and P. T. Moe (TechnipFMC, Norway)


Jan J. W. C. Brekelmans (TU Eindhoven)
The Volume Of Fluid Method for Two-Phase Flow: Numerical Simulation of Vertical Slug Flow supervised by A. Klinkenberg (Aker Solutions, Oslo) and A. S. Tijsseling (TU/e)

Out of a number of excellent applications, the two Master theses by Halvor Gustad and Jan Brekelmans were, outstanding in successfully approaching problems of the highest industrial relevance using advanced tools of mathematical modelling, analysis and simulation.
Both submissions perfectly fulfilled all criteria of ECMI’s interdisciplinary programme and the jury therefore decided to award the prize equally.

Herbert Egger & Matthias Ehrhardt

%d bloggers like this: