ECMI prize distribution

As a tradition of ECMI conferences the Anile and Wacker Prizes were awarded during the opening ceremony.

The Anile prize, honouring Professor Angelo Marcello Anile, (1948-2007) of the University of Catania, is given to a young researcher for an excellent PhD thesis in industrial mathematics. The prize was given to Peter Gangl, from Johannes Kepler Universität Linz. The title of his PhD thesis was Sensitivity-Based Topology and Shape Optimization with Application to Electrical Machines. The prize was given by Adérito Araújo, the President of ECMI and Professor Vittorio Romano, University of Catania, member of the prize committee.

The Hansjörg Wacker Memorial Prize, established in memory of ECMI founding member Hansjörg, (1939-1991), who was Professor at the Johannes Kepler University, Linz. The prize is awarded for the best mathematical dissertation at the Masters level on an industrial project. The prize was given to Edvin Åblad, from Chalmers University of Technology. The title of his thesis was Intersection-free load balancing for industrial robots. Modelling and algorithm development. The prize was given by Adérito Araújo, the President of ECMI and Andreas Binder, Managing Director of MathConsult GmbH, Linz, Austria, currently the Linz representative in the ECMI council and a former student of Hansjörg Wacker.

%d bloggers like this: