The 2016 ECMI Prizes

Anile-ECMI Prize for Mathematics in Industry

The Anile-ECMI Prize for Mathematics in Industry was established honouring Professor Angelo Marcello Anile (1948-2007) of Catania, Italy. It consists of a prize of 2500 Euros and an invitation to give a talk at the ECMI  conference.
The prize is given to a young researcher for an excellent PhD thesis in industrial mathematics successfully submitted at a European university.
The 2016 Anile-ECMI Prize for Mathematics in Industry is awarded to

Francesc Font Martinez,

now at the University of Limerik for his thesis
Beyond the classical Stefan problem
Written and defended at the Universitat Politecnica de Catalunya in 2014.
From the laudation of the Prize Committee:
The committee was extremely impressed by the high standard of the submissions for the ECMI-Anile prize for the best PhD thesis in industrial mathematics.
The main goal of Dr Font’s PhD was to understand the response of nanoparticles to high temperatures. Nanoparticles often behave in a very different manner to bulk particles.
The thesis comprised a powerful combination of mathematics, numerics and physics in studying a number of phase change problems. It makes important contributions to the understanding and formulation of supercooled phase change and phase change at the nanoscale.
The project has already led to five publications, all in first quartile nanotechnology or engineering oriented journals. In the true spirit of ECMI it has led to an industrial collaboration with AppliedNanonparticles in Bareclona including their attendance at the 115th study group in Barcelona.
This is an excellent thesis, involving analysis, asymptotics and numerics in the study of an industrial problem.

Tim Myers, Francesc Font Martinez and Dietmar Hömberg


Hansjörg Wacker Memorial Prize

The Hansjörg Wacker Memorial Prize was established in memory of  ECMI founding member Hansjörg Wacker (1939-1991), who was Professor of Numerical Mathematics at the Johannes Kepler University, Linz. The prize is jointly funded by ECMI, the University of Linz, and the Johann Radon Institute for Computational and Applied Mathematics of the Austrian Academy of Sciences. It consists of a prize of 1000 Euros and the invitation to attend the ECMI 2016 conference presenting his/her project as a contributed talk. The prize is awarded for the best mathematical dissertation at the Masters level on an industrial project written by a student from an ECMI institution.
The 2016 Hansjörg Wacker Memorial Prize is awarded to

Elisa Riccietti

from the Università degli Studi Firenze for her Master Thesis
Numerical methods for optimization problems: an application to energetic districts
From the laudation of the Prize Committee:
The project was carried out with ‘ENEL Research and Engineering’. ENEL is an Italian based multinational energy provider.
Elisa began by looking at the company’s current Sequential Linear Programming Algorithm, and, through a theoretical study, identifying problems with the current approach. She then proposed a new, improved method. The second phase of the thesis involved applying Particle Swarm Optimization methods. She found an appropriate form and implemented it into a Matlab code, so providing an alternative to the current process used by ENEL. The final part of the project involved testing the software on real energy districts provided by ENEL. Her work was used to enhance the company’s software packages.
Overall this is an excellent thesis, involving analysis, numerics and application to an industrial problem. It fits with the true spirit of ECMI.
Tim Myers, Elisa Riccietti and Dietmar Hömberg

See the official prize announcement here.

%d bloggers like this: